Autumn

Whether you liked this past summer or not, like it says in the song “everything must change” and now our attention has turned to the fall season. Yes, we all know that Halloween is upon us and Thanksgiving is on the way but right now there is still time to enjoy an (albeit relative) warm sunny day and what’s right here in our backyards (so to speak).

The fall foliage season is upon us. I know, some may say been there done that. I too have said that in years past but you have to admit, it is really a beautiful time of year. This weekend the meteorologists say it’s going to be sunny and 57 degrees on Saturday, similar on Sunday. Why not get out there, find or make an adventure, this weekend and enjoy what nature gives us so freely!

Now I say get out your bike, motorcycle, car, or maybe rent a convertible, yeah how about that, rent a convertible! Spend the day exploring. Some people say they love to be on the open road and I say look to the “back roads” of Connecticut where you can find all sorts of breathtaking scenery and cool little spots along the way.

If you are in the eastern part of the state maybe you want to head west. You can make your way to the New Milford area, yes it’s a bit of a drive but that’s what this is about! Once there, take CT Route 202 West to Route 7 North through New Milford, aylordsville and Kent to Calhoun Corners. From there, pick up Route 45 South to  Warren where you can drive around Lake Waramaug. Lake what? Waramaug, the name of an Indian chief who wintered in the area now covered by Lake Lillinonah. Continue on to New Preston. You can hop on Route 202 East to Route 47 South and follow that through Washington, CT, who needs D.C? Route 199 and then 67 that will take you to Roxbury Station and if you follow that to 202 your back where you started in New Milford.  While on your pilgrimage you may want to consider a picnic lunch or snapping pictures of the Bulls Bridge in Kent not far away. You’ve more than likely seen photos’ of the bridge but here is your chance to snap your own. Bull’s Bridge offers a wonderful river walk with waterfalls, rapids, overviews of a small gorge.

Now if you’re in the western part of the state maybe you want to make your way east to 395 North. Get off on exit 83A (to CT Route169) and continue north to Lisbon. Passing  through Lisbon  SR-169 will take your through Canterbury, Brooklyn, Pomfret, and Woodstock to the border of Massachusetts. Suggested places of interest include Heritage Trail Vineyards near Canterbury. Heritage Trail Vineyards, a place where old-world
ambiance and charm meet modern wine-making methods. You know the big guy dressed in red will soon be here so stopping by the Christmas Barn on 835 Route 169, Woodstock, CT just might be in order. Established in 1965 the shop in an old barn with several rooms filled with farmhouse necessities, Fall gatherings, Halloween fun and most everything Christmas!

If you go, you’re going to get hungry no matter which trip you take. So, if you go west then stop at the Litchfield Salt Water Grille located at 26 Commons Drive, Route 202 Litchfield, CT. For my money their Open Face Crab Melt on Sourdough, well let’s just say that and an Ale after a day
cruising the back roads just can’t be beat. If your coming out east then do yourself a favor and stop at the Inn At Woodstock Hill located at 94 Plaine Hill Rd Woodstock, CT. Who knows you may even stay over.

www.lakewaramaug.com

www.Bullsbridge.com

www.Heritagetrial.com

www.thechristmasbarnonline.com

www.woodstockhill.com

www.litchfieldsaltwatergrille.org

About A Fork and the Road

Later
This entry was posted in Adventure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Autumn

  1. marguerite volonts says:

    That’s just beautiful, Allen.
    We think alike. Here is what I just published in my union rag…….

    I love this time of year. The days are shorter and the quality of the late afternoon sun makes every leaf and branch stand out like the trees in a Gainsborough painting. It is impossible to drive down Sound Avenue in October to play the violin at a wedding on the North Fork without running into full-blown traffic jams of “tourists” picking pumpkins and apples or vegetables at every farm stand. I often wish that these same people would be as eager to learn something new as they are eager to fulfill their yearly tradition of travel to the North Fork during the harvest season.
    Learning something new. I often tell my music students to throw away the phrases of songs that are old and familiar and practice the new strange words or notes that they are tripping over on their way to learning a new song. “The difficult phrases represent the Thanksgiving turkey”, I tell them, “Practice the hard part for six hours and make the easier phrases into peas and carrots which take only 10 minutes to cook.”
    How I wish I could follow that advice myself. I am always playing an old familiar song, rather than some new avant-garde piece that could stretch me and my students. I have promised myself that I will do what the Stony Brook Radio Station does. WUSB management says every show must contain 30% music that was released in the last 3 months. I will do 30% new music every time I teach something. I will listen instead of talk. I will draw the learning out instead of just putting it in.
    It is easy to SAY these things in the fall when we are rising suns shining in the shadows of Autumn. Ask me in June and I’ll say I don’t care what happened, show me the last day. But for now, I want to do things that will inspire my students to try something new, something different, something harder than they tried before.

  2. Constance says:

    Thanks Allen…..nice article! I especially love Lake Waramaug and The Hopkins Inn.
    (It’s my father’s favorite restaurant.)

Leave a Reply

